Chelmsford Cathedral
 
Regular Services and Music Lists

Chelmsford Cathedral is home to a thriving worshipping community of all ages, and a centre of worship for people and communities across Essex and east London.

Worship is at the heart of everything we do here, and you are welcome to join us on Sundays and through the week. Some of our services are great celebrations with many hundreds of people; others are more intimate times of prayer and meditation. Visitors are always welcome – and Christian worship is a powerful way to learn more about the Christian faith and the life of the Christian community.

The cathedral is open every day of the year. Please come in, light a candle, say a prayer and simply enjoy the tranquillity of this special place. To see the music and service details for evening services between the 18th and 22nd of November, please click here

 

Sundays    
8.00am   Holy Communion: a quiet, reflective service with a short address from the Priest and the traditional words of the old prayer book (35 minutes)
8.30am   Breakfast with the Bible: An informal session with some teaching from the leader about a particular Bible passage; you are invited to come to the Chaper House for this. (45 minutes)
9.30am   Parish Eucharist: this is our service for all ages and everyone is welcome. It is very family friendly with an area in the Cathedral for toddlers to sit with their parents during the service and Junior Church for primary aged children (who gather in the Chapter House). We sing hymns, share communion together, listen to readings and hear a sermon. The service is followed by refreshments (70 minutes)
11.15am   Choral Eucharist or Mattins: sung by our robed choir. In this service the liturgy is sung by our professional choir. It will give you a chance to use the music to help you pray, as well as to hear scripture, listen to a sermon and receive communion or a blessing. All are welcome. (70 minutes)
3.30pm  

Choral Evensong: sung by the cathedral choir (60 minutes)

Weekdays and Saturdays 

7.45am   Morning Prayer: a very simple time of prayer with psalms and readings (30 minutes)
8.15am   Holy Communion: a simple celebration (25 minutes)
10.00am   Holy Communion (Thursday): a simple celebration (25 minutes)
12.35pm   Holy Communion (Wednesday): a simple celebration (25 minutes)
12.00pm   Midday Prayers and Quiet Hour: an invitation to enjoy the stillness of the cathedral
5.15pm   Choral Evensong (term time - except Wednesdays and most Saturdays where it is a said service): a meditative service with beautiful music (40 minutes)

 

The Services & Music list contains full details about Cathedral services

 

Click on a link below to download.

Sunday 27 October - Saturday 23 November

Sunday 13 October - Saturday 26 October

Sunday 29 September - Saturday 12 October 

Sunday 15 September - Saturday 28 September

Sunday 1 September - Saturday 14 September

Sunday 18 August - Saturday 31 August

Sunday 4 August - Saturday 17 August

Sunday 14 July - Saturday 27 July

Sunday 30 June - Saturday 13 July

Sunday 16 June - Saturday 29 June

Sunday 2 June - Saturday 15 June

 

Gallery Gallery

Click a thumbnail for the full size picture